Workspace and Craft Room Rehab: Joining Forces

Now it’s time to really sink our teeth in to my whole reason for participating in Workspace – the purging process. I know what I have, I know how I currently create in this space and I have my idea of my ideal crafting environment firmly front-of-mind. So let’s get into this…But wait where do I start? Marcy has a great overview of the pairing down & categorizing process and if you’re a seasoned declutterer and all you need is a bit of a nudge to get you going, by all means the next couple of portions of the class has some great ideas but unfortunately this is kind of where I think the Workspace workshop falls short for me. I know this isn’t my first craft room refresh and I’m already fairly familiar with the sort of supplies I use and have at my disposal but for this round I want to do what Marcy classes as a ‘Deep Purge’ and go through everything versus what she calls a ‘Maintenance Purge’ which is basically just making sure this part or that part is still working for you. And for that I really want to see some examples of other crafty organizing, I love nothing more than seeing other people’s spaces. How they organize specific items, the amount of stuff they have and hearing about their little tips and tricks. Sure we may not work the same, but guaranteed I’m going to pick up on a little thing here or there that I can implement in my own space. Luckily for me Big Picture Classes has recently announced the next installment of a complimentary class to Workspace that really gets into all that nitty-gritty stuff I love to peruse. Craft Room Rehab, with teacher Carson Riutta, takes you through category by category with some great ideas from Carson herself and three of her fellow crafty pals to give you a look into a bunch of different spaces, supplies and a bunch of ways to sort, store and organize them. Now I will say the class is still being released and only the first three portions are currently available Craft Room Rehab: Paper; Craft Room Rehab: Stamps & Inks; and the latest one (which just got released Monday and the one I’m most excited for) Craft Room Rehab: Embellishments. Especially if you have a large stash and a lot of supplies Carson’s approach will be extra helpful. So for the rest of my decluttering I’m pairing the wisdom of Workspace with the comprehensive coverage of Craft Room Rehab.

20170120_1workspaceandcraftroomrehab_joiningforces20170120_2workspaceandcraftroomrehab_joiningforces It’s the back bone of our scrappy existence and the first supply to be tackled in Craft Room Rehab our beloved paper stash. In the top photo above is my entire collection of 12×12 papers which were mostly stored on a set of stacking wire trays. Marcy reiterated in her Pairing Down portion of Workspace the common organizational advice that it’s great to empty your entire room when doing a big purge but just like her I concluded that “manageable chunks” was the way to go for me. I started my paper purge by grabbing every single piece or 12×12 paper I had and going through it. Gathering them from all the random spots they had been stowed, most of it was in the rack but I had a pack of black cardstock stuck in near my binder and boxes for collections here there and everywhere all over the room. From cardstock to lose patterned paper, paper pads to collection kits I went through every single one and managed to remove an inch and a half stack of papers that aren’t to my taste anymore or never were my style in the first place – mostly from paper pads. I chose not to go through things I’d kitted up for specific projects at this point because I’ll tackle them as their own sub-section of supplies. In the end I was able to whittle down my papers so that all of my collection kits could be stored on the wire rack including my abundance of Crate Paper goodies which were previously just floating around in a box together. I even had two whole shelves left over and finally, finally had somewhere to put my A4 papers which continually frustrate me because they have never had a proper home the entire time I’ve used this space. So that was a big win to get this purging thing off to a great start. 20170120_5workspaceandcraftroomrehab_joiningforces20170120_6workspaceandcraftroomrehab_joiningforcesThen I braved my Project Life cards. They were part of the original impetus for this round of craft room refreshing. I wanted to consolidate the large collection of PL boxes into a smaller system so that I could free up a draw for my new photography equipment. Honestly I didn’t think I had quite as many as a do. This one was a bit of a shock to the system. For someone who doesn’t do pocket scrapping I sure have amassed a collection. I blame Heidi… I actually own two core kits, six mini kits, five value kits and a handful of other pocket scrapping things like packs from the Reject Shop, and cut-aparts. Ideally I would love to use Marcy and Shanna’s idea of a pretty vintage crate but for now I stole a tip from Adele (aka Inkie Quill) to use cotton-bud containers to coral them and they fit just perfectly into the space I have. The first two containers hold my core kits which you’ve seen me use for staff gifts. The third one is my collection of value kits, it’s pretty much all Heidi Swapp, except for a DIY Shop Value Kit. The last container is all of the rest, I also have two full kits still in their boxes for future projects. A Wellington Childhood Edition Mini Kit to jot down either my own or my kid’s school memories and an extra Maggie Holmes kit. Not shown are two other Maggie Holmes kits that are stored with my Crate Paper embellishments because I tend to use them exclusively with all my Crate Paper goodies, sometimes as cards but more often cut up and used as extra embellishments. In the end I only got rid of two cards from one of my Reject Shop card sets and all the kraft cards from the Heidi Swapp Kraft and Foil value kit. It’s not a colour I use, and I may yet get rid of the watercolour ones too but we’ll see. I only bought it I wanted the foiled-acetate numbers for a future December Daily and it was super cheap. I like that my little collection now takes up less room and I have a draw for all that lovely photography stuff and it also gave me the idea to maybe prep a few albums for future staff gifts which would free up further space.20170120_3workspaceandcraftroomrehab_joiningforces20170120_4workspaceandcraftroomrehab_joiningforcesNext up was going through my smaller papers, both paper pads and scraps. The paper pads took all of five seconds because I really don’t have a bunch of those but I did end up removing two 8×8 paper pads (the kids ran off with one before I could photograph it) and a handful of 6×6 papers that are patterns I just don’t think I’ll ever use. My scraps on the other hand are kinda out of control I don’t think I’ve ever really gone through my scraps in my entire 15 years of scrapping, a piece here a piece there, maybe on a whim I’d get fed up with a colour or two and purge one A4 sleeve ( I keep them colour coded in two binders on my buffet). This time I went through every colour and got rid of all the obvious scraps, straight into the recycling. After all that paper purging though I was sorta over it, so I’m calling it done for now. I’m really only considering this a first pass on the scraps I’ll go back and do it again because there is sure to be more I can part with.20170120_7workspaceandcraftroomrehab_joiningforces20170120_8workspaceandcraftroomrehab_joiningforcesI also went through and grabbed anything that was in my Use It or Loose It box from the last purge I did and set them straight in the pile of giveaway papers, it is really my version of a ‘Maybe’ pile and since I haven’t ‘Used it’, it’s now time to Loose It, this time I haven’t kept any maybe’s. So yay for progress! Like I said in my original Workspace post I’ve been showing someone some of my scrappy endeavors because they expressed an interest in getting into scrapbooking. So I will probably be passing on my purged supplies to her.20170120_9workspaceandcraftroomrehab_joiningforcesMy scraproom is already feeling lighter and more organized and I am so excited to have all my 12×12 papers, especially my collections, so neatly ordered and ready for more crafting in the future. I always love this part in the decluttering process where everything has a place again and everything is in its place and now it’s time to move on to the next portion of Craftroom Rehab to tackle another group of supplies.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

