Bring on the New {Year}

I’m taking the patented Jennifer Wilson, Simple Scrapper, seasonal approach to my intentions this year and just focusing on the first three months of the year, keeping my goals for 2017 manageable by not committing to anything overly huge or for the entirety of the year so I can keep my focus clear and concise. I’ve been on a real changing mindsets journey for a while now, listening to awesome podcasts like Terri Savelle Foy about the things we think and mulling over wisdom from Alejandra Costello, Allie Cassazza, and Marie Kondo to get rid of all the ‘Stuff’ that’s weighing me down so that I can live an intentional, joy filled, purposeful life. Really examining what are my core values are and whether or not my life reflects them? It’s the thing we do as a new year flips over the calendar isn’t it and this year I’m ready for a year of big changes. I’ve noticed on here that I have a pattern of saying I am this or I am that. Example I never finish things, I can never stay focused, I’m just a messy scrapper (scrap room wise, not style) … Allie would call these limiting beliefs. Terri would quote the scripture that says “as a man thinks in his heart so is he”. I’m inclined to agree. A lot of my goals for 2017 are stemming from these beliefs that I have so this is a time to start fresh. Beginning with rewiring those limiting beliefs in my head and tackling those limiting roadblocks in my scraproom. As part of my commitment to finishing things and using what I have I’m going to do a scraproom makeover using the Workspace class at BPC by Marcy Penner. I love her personal style and I’m hoping that by doing a scraproom reboot I’ll be able to inject some of that calm and cohesiveness into my space. I’ve tidied up a bit in the last few years but I wanna go deep again and get rid of more of the stuff. So that is goal numero uno for January on this here ‘ol blog.20170102_1bringonthenew

I have really noticed a direct correlation between my physical space and my motivation for doing the necessary tasks in that space like my ‘want’ to scrap and the amount of stuff in my room. Especially with December Daily and Christmas crafting. I just didn’t want to get in and do anything cos my room was a mess. I always do foundation pages and I kept putting it off and putting it off until it was already December and I had nothing to show for it. I tend to feel at my most irritated and irrational when I have a lot of stuff out. When my space is clear I’m calmer, I’m more able to respond to my kids nicer and I don’t feel so much rush and pressure, and I get stuff done. It’s a real key to productivity for me, and I soooo wanna be more productive this year. Like with the house I was so proud to get the whole house clean before we hosted Christmas with the intent to maintain it for the week til New Years cos one of my things is that I like waking up with a fresh house for a fresh year but then when we got sick and it all went to poop again I didn’t think I’d manage it. As the mess got bigger my stress got bigger. Happily though I did reinstate order bit by bit as I started feeling better. Parenting miracle I even got my kids to clean their room without yelling, once. I simply asked them to pick up 10 things at a time before they went back outside or played the next game throughout the day – winning! I’ve been feeling the weight of all this accumulation not just in the scraproom but everywhere so I knew a giant house purge was on the cards. Since October I’ve been setting myself up decluttering stuff as I went to get a jump on it. We moved a side table over to the other side of the room so I cleared out some extra glasses and platters that never seem to get used. Our washing machine died Christmas Eve so as I folded the mountain of washing my mother in law so graciously washed for me I’ve set aside stuff into donation bags instead of just back in the draws. I even went through everyone’s draws as I put it away and got rid of even more stuff, amping up for a Kon Marie style clothes purge. The little by little works, but it peeters out for me, I need to go big or go nowhere. Deadlines work for me when they’re clear and short so that’s why I need a class like Workspace to tackle my scraproom. Clear consistent instruction. Direction, Visualisation, Clear Goals these are the things I need to get ‘er done.20170102_2bringonthenew

I’m gonna ramp up all the scrappyness and get into the LOAD Challenge for February (Layout A Day) so stick with me through the cleaning and we’ll get to some really good stuff. Nothing has been announced about this years LOAD yet so I have no idea what I’m getting myself into, but I did enjoy it immensely last year and am really looking forward to having another crack at it. I do have it on good authority that it is definitely a goer under the watchful eye of Alice Boll, you can sign up here if you want to get in on the action too and be the first to know when the announcement is made and sign up begins. I want that accountability, encouragement and to get in the scrappy flow for the year. I love how it stopped me from over thinking every scrappy decisions last year and I had so many fabulous pages come out of it, so I’m excited to see what I produce this year.20170102_3bringonthenew

With a renewed scraproom and a consistent scrappy habit following my January and February practices I want March to focus on finishing touches. I have a again amassed a bunch of layouts that never quite got to finished stage and I am finally, finally going to commit the time and effort required to beautify my scraproom. It needs to get done and it needs to get done like, yesterday. Let’s call it a Finishing Project of sorts. Keep it realistic, keep it manageable   and make it happen that’s my plan for 2017. Three months, three goals, that’s all I am committing to right now and maybe in the second quarter of the year I’ll do another post like this and set another three goals for the second season. Hope you come along for the journey and enjoy all the organizing/scrappy talk & inspiration for this new year and I hope your 2017 kicks some butt!

Save

Save

One thought on “Bring on the New {Year}

  1. Pingback: One Little Word 2017 (or maybe not) | live. create. love it.

Leave a Reply

