Jot Mag July Mood Board

It’s great how things just come together sometimes when your creating a layout but at other times you just need to sit and wait things out before you find that right mix of what works. This layout was a surprising case of both. These pictures from my sons 4th birthday have, no joke, been sitting, loitering, lolly-gagging on my scrap table for a year now, a year people!, and I just could not figure out how to scrap them. Enter the Jot Mag July Mood Board and suddenly the heavens opened and it fell together in about half an hour. That is an amazingly fast layout for me.20150731_1JotMagJulyMoodBoardI honestly think it had something to do with all that orange in the pictures. I am not a fan of the citrus colours – orange, yellow, lime green…yuck – and therefore have a hard time scrapping with them. Needless to say some of this years Jot Mood Board picks have been stretching me (March, & June anyone) but Blues, baby I am all there, they are my scrappy happy place and since orange is blues complementary colour I actually didn’t have to look all that far to find my muse for this one.20150731_2JotMagJulyMoodBoardThe top strip and ‘so very thankful’ came from a border strip paper called ‘Summer’s End’ by Fancy Pants and just so happened to incorporate all the lovely colours from this months mood board, it was simply then a case of poking through what else I had to complement them. A few stickers from Basic Grey’s Hopscotch 12×12 sheet that I was also having trouble using and voila, layout sorted. I’ll call this layout a major win-win, being able to use so many things that I keep pulling out an putting back is a great confidence boost. I was almost going to say ‘and not a spot of Heidi Swapp on this one’ for a change but ooohh, what’s that I spy but some Heidi Swapp flair up in the top cluster to bring in a little pink… uh yeah, hey at least I’m consistent. Speaking of Heidi, have you seen all the ‘Heidi Swapp loveliness showing up in the Jot Girls’ Instagram feeds. I cannot wait for them to come out with Issue 11. She is just such a wonderful inspiration and example both personally and artistically to me. Still so generous even in difficult times and circumstance and I could not be prouder to be a part of this community that is rallying around her at the moment.

20150731_3JotMagJulyMoodBoardSo very thankful is such a perfect sentiment at the moment. Not only for this layout about my beautiful boy, for having a fun and satisfying scrapping session but also about being a scrapbooker right now. What are you thankful for at the moment?

2 thoughts on “Jot Mag July Mood Board

Leave a Reply

