The Kindness of Strangers

It’s been a bit of a crazy time around here lately, what with gearing up for our little holiday, school activities and events, and baby appointments all over the place on top of all the regular stuff of life. I’ve been finding more and more that I just want to retreat to my scraproom and have some fun playing with paper. It is such a sainty saver and preserver for me and I know when I haven’t been scrapping that I start getting kind of cranky. The only problem with life being so busy is that the time I have available is infrequent and short at best, what’s a gal to do? Get her super scrap on and do some quick, simple layouts.

20150601_1The Kindness of StrangersThis one scraps a memory from 2011 when my family and I were in Melbourne for a short business trip. It was the first time we had traveled away from home with our six month old bubba and a bit of a learning curve and trial run for a bigger trip later the same month. Being new to the whole parenting thing we were a little underprepared and overwhelmed. I found myself struggling with the baby carrier and the lack of transport situation and really needing a pram with no way of getting one. In stepped the kindest shop keeper who just happened to hear my plight and offered her own lovely stroller for me to borrow while we were there. It was completely incredible to me that a woman who had absolutely no idea who I was would do something so kind for me. Being able to focus on such a positive and special memory was so therapeutic for me right now.  20150601_2The Kindness of StrangersThe layout itself is inspired by my experience with Lilith Eckels 30 Minute Layouts class over at Big Picture Classes and based on a sketch from Scrappy Canary which they posted on instagram for their NSD challenges. While I didn’t end up playing along with them at the time, I still loved the sketch and used that as my starting point to get the memory on the page in as short a time as possible. I’ve also just noticed that BPChave a new class coming up that is even speedier called 15 Minute Pages with Jamie Waters, who you’ll know has got some skillz for fast pages if you’ve been following along with her recent collaboration Design On Time with Amy Tan and host Tudor called. 20150601_3The Kindness of Strangers With my focus on photo-less layouts last month and getting using memorabilia on my layouts I couldn’t help adding the business card from the store where I met this kind stranger. I don’t believe they’re there anymore but I will forever be grateful that she offered to help me in such a wonderful way.

Have you ever experienced a stranger do something kind for you? I’d love to hear about it.

Leave a Reply

