A Time to Scraplift

Inspired by Episode 9 of the Scrap Gals Podcast, Scraplifting:Erasing the Stigma I thought I’d try my hand at something I haven’t done in a while and give scraplifting a go again. Both Tiffany and Tracie were of the opinion that it allowed them to scrap faster than they normally might and also that it was a useful tool in the scrappers arsenal of scrappy starters. I believe I shared a scraplift of an old Maggie Holmes layout on my instagram some time last year but I can’t even remember the last time I scraplifted before that. It’s not that I’m even opposed to the idea or anything just that the thought really hadn’t crossed my mind in recent times.20150424_1ATimeToScraplift For my scraplift I chose this beautiful layout “The Grand Canyon Track” by Linda Eggleton that was published in Scrapbooking Memories Vol. 17  No. 8 (pp36). I loved the mix of pattern and the way she layered all of those lovely papers but the clincher was her use of the Mister Fox Collectables from Kaisercraft which I just can’t get enough of scrapping with. It seems like that pack of die-cuts is never ending. I think I kept pretty true to the original design of the layout although I did decide to stretch it from a one-pager to a double-page spread for my layout, simply because I wanted to use these fantastic pictures of my boys having an animated conversation despite the fact that Joseph couldn’t talk yet. Given that my photo’s were landscape rather than portrait I needed the extra space to give them the same amount of breathing room. I also chose to use similar patterns in the choice of a grid and polka-dot and a geometric for the washi.20150424_2ATimeToScraplift_LindaEggletonOrigLinda’s style incorporates a lovely layer of mixed media behind her paper cluster, which I chose to omit, simply because I don’t own any. And I swapped the cluster of flowers for another photo because I just love how the boys were sitting with their feet touching. In terms of placement I kept the paper layers, embellishment clusters, journaling block, title and even the arrow in the same place, however I did take inspiration from the journaling strips on the lower right corner for the placement of my washi strips.20150424_3ATimeToScrapliftBy comparison my layout turned out much simpler than Linda’s and whilst it is true to my style I think the thing that originally attracted me to her layout was the distressing and dark inked edges on her papers and the mixed media background. I inked my edges too but I think her distressing adds some wonderful dimension that mine doesn’t have. If I could start over I would distress and ink the edges more or at least do something to them to give them some more depth. I’d also put a white border around my set of three photos instead of leaving them as is because I love the way Linda’s photos remain a focal point even with the wonderful depth of layering she used. Perhaps I could even add some other dimensional elements for a a bit of visual interest like Linda’s blooms do on her layout.20150424_4ATimeToScrapliftI love the layout on its own but when compared to the original scraplift it does seem a little lack lustre to me and that’s part of the way it goes with scraplifting. Sometimes you don’t figure out what motivated you to pick a layout until your done and that’s where practise comes in to get you spotting these sorts of things. I feel like I’m a bit rusty on the scraplifting front, although it was a fun exercise and my layout came together in no time. Why not give it a go yourself? If you liked Linda’s layout too you can find more of her lovely work regularily in Scrapbook Memories and on her blog at Lou’s World where she also had a magnificant collection of published layouts including this one. Go check her out.

Leave a Reply

