Meant to Be a Scrapbooker

What’s the one thing that you wake up in the morning and just can’t wait to get to? I’m guessing you already know my answer cos it’s pretty obvious – Scrapbooking, yeah I know you’re like ‘Duh Jen’. But I had a bunch of random ideas and random things that I wanted to do something with and decided to pull them together to create this layout.

20150216_1MeantToBeAScrapbookerYou may have picked up on the initial spark behind the layout if you’ve ever watched the movie Sister Act 2. Part of me still wishes I could be a Vocalist or a Dancer when I grow up so I’m a big fan of any singing, dancing, going-after-your-dreams-against-the-odds kind of movies and this one has been on regular replay for me since my childhood. There’s a scene between Delores Van Catier aka Sister Mary Clarence (Whoopi Goldberg) and Rita (Lauryn Hill) in which Delores is trying to convince Rita to follow her heart and gives her a book to read as a means of imparting some wisdom. While I didn’t use the exact quote from the movie (or quote the book Letters to a Young Poet by Rainer Marie Rilke which inspired the scene) this right here is my paraphrased/personalized version of it.

20150216_3MeantToBeAScrapbookerGosh I love that. I almost let those words be the entirety of my journaling on this one because I think they say so much in such a succinct fashion. But for someone as wordy as I am, the layout seems somewhat bereft of text and I couldn’t resist adding a small journaling piece to the left hand side as a matter of balance and brief explanation. I guess this is about as close to brevity as I get.20150216_2MeantToBeAScrapbookerThe right side of the layout consists of a collage type art piece that I used for a uni assignment back in the day made from magazine cuttings and advertising material. I allowed this to also inform my product choices and got to use some older scrap-stash on the rest of the page. It’s so indicative of my style at that time. The background is made from a black and white magazine spread of a European city and some fussy-cut flourishes as a nod to my desire to someday visit Europe. The Polaroid pieces were I think advertising for some kind of sporting equipment and the scrapbooking product images come from the advertising section of an Scrapbooking Memories magazine. I just love that they show the kinds of things I was into back then – K & Company and Making Memories – be still my scrappy heart.20150216_5MeantToBeAScrapbookerThe other side of the layout is a throwback to early 2007 and some pics of my favorite place to spend a Saturday Night – attending a Crop at my local scrap store – Scrap & Stamp Attack. Don’t you miss those days…(sighs wistfully), unfortunately, like a lot of places it is no more but gosh I loved spending my time there with those lovely ladies.20150216_4MeantToBeAScrapbookerIndividually the ephemera, photos and that quote just make so happy, but the combination of them all together on one layout is a beautiful thing. I will never get tired of this hobby and all the wonderful things it adds to my life.

PS Thanks for your patience over the past couple of weeks while I’ve been MIA. I took an unscheduled break from all things Scrappy and Blog related due to being unwell. Here’s hoping I’m over the worst of it and can get back into the swing of things. I really do appreciate you having a look around even while I wasn’t posting.

Leave a Reply

