Construction Yellow

I am having an insane amount of fun in Capture 30 at the moment but decided to take a short break from all the goal setting and pondering to whip up a fun little layout, documenting the little guys 2nd birthday. It was sparked by those cute little Jenni B construction vehicle embellishments along the bottom. I received them as part of a Christmas present and while I would say cutesy is not really my usual style I did think they were rather perfect for a little boy layout, especially one who is into heavy vehicle’s at the moment.20150107_1I’m not iambaker by any stretch of the imagination but I sure had fun putting that cake together and using an entire bottle of yellow food coloring to get just the right shade of construction yellow for the icing. The boys loved it and were especially pleased to see themselves depicted driving the scraper too. 20150107_2For this layout I even tried my hand at embossing on acetate for the first time, with white embossing powder. The image was not as crisp as it could have been but I like the technique and will be sure to use it again. Probably with a more solid image since the ‘birthday wishes’ text on the stamp got a little muddied once embossed. 20150107_3What’s sparking your creativity at the moment?

Leave a Reply

