December Daily: Day Eight

For my layout on Day 8 I had to do a little rearranging of foundation pages first before I could get into it. Clearly I wasn’t thinking straight when I put the Santa checking his list paper on that particular day. So it was a matter of figuring out which day it would actually work for and then rearranging four or so others to make it fit where I wanted before I got going. 17122014_1DD2014Day8I was really inspired to go with a grid for this one and began with some Project Life Cinnamon edition cards. I really like the look of different embellishment clusters in a grid design and the fact that you get to play around and make vignettes in each space. You can go as wild or as simple as you like but the effect is still quite pleasing to the eye because you have that separation of space between the elements of your grid.17122014_2DD2014Day8 Cinnamon is a lovely neutral colour palette of browns, greys and creams and was such a great complement for letting my photos stand out. I decided to use a couple of Heidi Swapp stars just to bring in the blue of Josephs shirt to my embellishment clusters and added in a subtle touch of repeating his age too. Can you guess how old the little guy was this year? One of my favourite things to include was the ‘Start each day like its your birthday’ die cut from the Kaisercraft Take Note collection. I’ve toyed with the idea of getting it on so many layouts and finally decided it just had to go on this one.17122014_3DD2014Day8It was a fairly low-key kind of day and I feel like the photos speak for themselves, so I opted to not do any journaling for this one. I figure I can always go back and add some later if I feel so inclined. It took a couple of days to pull together but I’m pleasantly happy with the outcome.17122014_4DD2014Day8How do you go about including elements in your design that are a nod to your subject?

Leave a Reply

