December Daily 2014 A Handcrafted Cover

Woo Hoo we’re here! December is upon us and it’s time to get into some serious crafting. Can you tell I’m just a little bit excited to get underway with my December Daily for this year. I’ve been pinning and planning and just generally enjoying the process of getting organized, dreaming up this years album. So without further ado here is my cover for 2014:

01122014_1DD2014Cover

I can thank Natalie Elphinstone who pinned this lovely image which totally inspired my cover this year. Originally I thought I would go with a giant stitched tree in a more modern style, similar in scale to her pin. But once I’d selected my paper collection it didn’t quite seem to suit. I still wanted to go with cross-stitch on the cover though. It totally suited my theme for this year’s decorating and such, Handcrafted Holiday, that I spoke of when discussing my kit process. I’ve got a million plans for crafting various things throughout the month, so I know there will be some seriously crafty content in my DD Album for 2014.  I had also thought about stitching something specific for the cover but November got chewed up completing the very last of my assignments for a Cert IV in Agribusiness so it didn’t materialise. Luckily for me I had some kits that I’ve stitched up already that haven’t found a use yet and this lovely one with the bees and the trees was perfect. 01122014_2DD2014CoverI kept the stitched theme going with some lovely black/white/clear stickers from a $2 Dollar Shop pack that I’ve been hoarding and added in a few bits and pieces from the Kaisercraft Yuletide Collection. In fact the cross-stitch is not the only re-purposed item on my cover. The pretty raffia bow came off a gift my sister-in-law gave me and the accordion flower was made from book paper for another project but got replaced in the end so it’s been waiting for something else and seemed perfect here.  The little tree is a decorative button that has been well and truly part of my stash for a long time so I’m super excited to actually have it on something. I tore a sheet of one of my favourite papers from the Kaisercraft Timeless Classics paper pad to add a bit of texture around the cluster and behind it all is a sheet of music paper found via Pinterest, from here that serves well to keep everything grounded.01122014_3DD2014CoverI just love that black and gold washi on the side too, it was a gift from another of my sister’s-in-law who knows my weakness for all things scrapbooking. It kind of reminds me of Little Golden Books, being used like that. I’m going to wait until I’ve completed the album before I attach a back-cover and spine to my album but the spine will get the same washi treatment and help bind it all together.01122014_4DD2014Cover

Cheers to the craftiest time of the year! What are you working on?

One thought on “December Daily 2014 A Handcrafted Cover

  1. Pingback: December Daily: Days 21-25 | live. create. love it.

Leave a Reply

