A Little Somethin’ Somethin’

I’ve been out of commission for the past week with a toothache that slammed-me-into-the-ground. It affected my work, my home-life, my sleep and absolutely affected my sanity. I’d say it rated up there with being in pre-labour for five days. Yeah it was pretty ouchie (yep I said ouchie, #itsamumthing). So I’m playing a little late with the Jot Magazine August Something Board, so late in fact that I wasn’t able to link up this month, but hey I’d rather play late than not at all. The Something Board is a new a mood board concept they’ve come up with beginning with August’s board. It’s based on the old wedding rhyme of Something Old, Something New, Something Borrowed, Something Blue. This month’s Something board was the phrase10092014_1ALittleSomethingSomethingOh yeah I’m so down with that. I managed to snag myself a 12 x 12 paper pad of Heidi Swapp’s Hello Today collection on a recent shopping trip and immediately knew which paper I’d be choosing for this layout, bring on those BOLD triangle’s I say.

10092014_2ALittleSomethingSomethingThrow in a Stashbusters challenge to use older supplies with newer supplies, something old something new…ha ha ha, and since I was already on the something train I just added it to the mix. Admittedly Heidi had already done most of the work for me on the Stripey, Bold and Glittery portion of things so all I was left to do was add in some finishing touches of gold & such and call it good. 10092014_4ALittleSomethingSomething10092014_5ALittleSomethingSomethingMost of the paper on this layout is new but as far as embellishments – we go way back. I’m talking 2002/2003. The first thing I pulled out from my older item stash was the awesome gold tags from Paper Pizzaz which I’ve been using quite a bit lately, they’re totally making a comeback in my ol’ scraproom and I just can’t seem to get enough of these, good thing I hoarded a few packets then. I also added a bunch of shaped brads, one of the side challenges a few of the girls in Stashbusters had going on was to see if they could make a dent in their brads (or similar) stash during the class. Can’t say I used a bunch during the class but I did manage to get them in here. I also used some shaped buttons, a Making Memories circle tag and a button from God only knows when to round out the embellishment cluster, even sneaking in a new glitter button just because it was so fabulous.

I really wanted this layout to be all about being grateful and the Hello Today line is so perfect for that. So I let this lovely chipboard piece act as my title. The journalling is from early 2013 when I really needed to make gratitude part of my daily practice and to be honest I’m in need of a little refresher now too, so this was good timing to get it on a layout.

10092014_3ALittleSomethingSomethingOnce I had all the little bits down I decided what I really needed was a little more glitter so I cut frames from some silver glitter paper to make the photos really stand out. The pics were taken on mothers day during an impromptu trip to the local beach and it was absolutely a day filled with gratitude. 10092014_6ALittleSomethingSomethingI’m really excited about this new mood board concept they’ve come up with and can’t wait to see what they have in store this month.

Care to share what you’ve been feeling grateful about lately?

Leave a Reply

