Look Again: Repurposed Scrapbooking

At first glance this layout looks relatively normal and quite like a lot of my other pages but upon further inspection you will find that most of the supplies I used on this one are not scrapbooking products at all. When challenged to use something in a different way to how it was intended my first thought was to go to my collection of Elements for Embellishing. These are things that are not necessarily scrapbooking product but that I like the design or look of and want to use in my scrapbooks. Can you guess which items on my layout have been re-purposed? 03092014_1LookAgainIn addition to re-purposing items this was a huge case of use what you love. The large flower is a botanical print from a magazine that I just adore for the detail and depth of colour. It was the first thing I picked out and set the tone for the kind of layout I wanted to make. I chose the lovely Anna Griffin paper for my background to compliment the tones in the print and raided my scraps for the right shade of red cardstock to mount my photo on. The envelope and another lovely postcard from my collection round out the cluster. I love the sort of aged linen texture on the postcard and am a bit of a sucker for any kind of script print on things. It originally had a white border which I trimmed to bring the tones of the image more in line with the  ‘luminary’ sticker on the envelope, don’t be afraid to alter things to suit your design. Would you believe that even the red twine is re-purposed and originally came from a bag of flour .03092014_2LookAgainThat luminary sticker in itself is a whole story, it comes from a great pack that I have trouble actually convincing myself to put on layouts because they’re part of that whole too-precious-to-use mentality. They remind me so much of the town I lived in when I was an exchange student in the USA and have in the past been reserved for ‘special’ layouts. This one in particular takes me right back to a moment in a candle shop and the sights and smells of  the place. It is for that exact reason that I am choosing these days to use what I love because I obviously haven’t found anything ‘special enough’ in all this time.

03092014_3LookAgainThis has got to be my favourite Super Stashbusters challenge and granted these things are probably not of the highest archival quality but all the same I love how this page turned out. I am so pleased at all the meaning and beauty wrapped up in this layout not least of which, is the beautiful photo of my sister and my son taken the morning of her wedding.

What have you hoarded for a ‘special’ layout and never used?

Leave a Reply

