Simple Scrapper August Colour Inspiration

At the very beginning of the year I signed up for Jennifer Wilson’s Start Fresh course over at Simple Scrapper. I had a lot of goals for my scrapbooking for the year and I wanted to make sure that I could keep track of them. I needed a viable, easy to use and easy to access method for getting my ideas down. A place that I could go when I needed a story to spark a layout or to track my progress on projects. Participating in Start Fresh also got me in the habit of visiting Simple Scrapper every month and downloading her Free Calandar Printable these have been fantastic for keeping track of month specific scrapbooking goals, Scrapbooking Events/Classes and more recently blog post ideas.

Also included on the printable are a colour palette and a storytelling theme as well as information for the Simple Scrapper Community. This months colour palette was seriously calling my name. Shades of brown and green have been part of my go-to colour palatte ever since I started scrapping, way back in Scrapbookings Brown Period and I love this colour combo just as much now as I did then. Happily though I have updated my supplies here.25082014_1SimpleScrapperAugColourInspo

Sometimes I just feel like playing with pretty things and the act of creative play is what gets me to sit down at my scrap desk, for this one I was really in the mood to just start playing with the colour palette without a clear idea of where my layout was heading. I pulled out a few favourite items from my stash, like the Kaisercraft butterfly sticker (from the Bonjour collection) and the green diecut paper (from their Nan’s Favourites line) and went to town. In the interest of using things that I’ve already prepared once my page was formed I went looking for a something that would suit my design and it’s not only supplies that are part of my ready-to-go stash but stories as well. This one, from when I was pregnant with my eldest is one that has been waiting in the wings and since I’d included that postcard with the birds on it Nesting seemed like the perfect topic for this layout, complementing my soft-toned colour palette 25082014_2SimpleScrapperAugColourInspo

Got a go-to colour palette? What are your favourites?

Leave a Reply

