My First Foray into Project LIfe

So I know that Project Life and Pocket Scrapbooking is all the rage at the moment and that week-by-week documentation is the preferred method of many a scrapbooker but it’s one thing that I have decided was just not for me. I’ve tried a couple of spreads for various class challenges and just to dabble but had a bit of a hard time with the division between elements. I’m not saying that’ll apply forever and I could totally see myself using it to document a pregnancy, or the first year of my baby’s life, or some other topic driven scrapbook but as an ongoing project, keeping up with PL… I just wouldn’t have enough motivation to keep me interested. Besides I am waaaayyy too in love with the 12×12 canvas, and that does not look like its gonna change in a hurry.

All that said, I’m a bit of a fan of all the gorgeous kits that keep coming out (OMG have you seen the Heidi+Becky collaboration, just sayin’)  and as a reader of Becky’s Blog, just her whole approach to memory keeping and engaging with her customers really inspires me. So what’s a girl to do when she wants to get her hands on some cool product and play a little but not commit to the whole she-bang: go small to get her feet wet.18082014_1FirstForayintoPLI’ve mentioned before that for the last few years we’ve had the opportunity to host people in our home from other countries and learn a little about their cultures. Well the two fellas with us most recently had finished their stint here and I was looking for a way to give them a going-away pressie that was meaningful but could be put together fairly quick. A lot of the main impetus behind the Project Life brand was to find a managable way of documenting life without it getting to complicated. So I thought it was a good fit for this project, all I wanted to do was stick cards in the pockets add my pictures and call it good. In the end I did add a little bit of stamping for tabs and titles but that was about all the embellishing this got.

18082014_2FirstForayintoPLIt really was as simple and easy as it should have been and the photos remain centre stage which is really what I wanted for this album. Given the audience I thought simple would be rather appropriate. I did include journaling cards and invited the blokes to write down some of their memories and thoughts on being here but given that it’s two single blokes on the receiving end of these I don’t hold out much hope that they will. The design really needed to ensure that the message could still hold up even with out it and I’m confident that it does.

18082014_3FirstForayintoPLSo what are my takeaways from doing this project? It was suitable for the end-product I wanted to produce. Keeping it simple allowed me to get it done in the short amount of time that I had to do it. A few little extras help bring the message home. Ultimatly Project Life is still not for me. While I pleased with what I made, I felt that there was not enough in the creative process that allowed me to  ‘play’. You may well say that there are plenty of scrappers out there who do engage in creative play but I have found that the tiny 3×4 or even 4×6 size of a PL card is just too small for me. Part of what I enjoy so much with the 12 x 12 canvas is the act of creative play. Picking my photos, developing my story and then moving little bits of paper, stickers and whatever else around my page to find a design that I find attractive. I really come alive when I have elements I want to include on a layout but have to figure out how to make them fit together. Spending that time finding a creative solution to a design problem is what lights me up and there was definitely not enough of that in this project.

18082014_4FirstForayintoPLFor my two albums I used Project Life Mini Albums filled with mostly the Jade Edition Core Kit (album above), the Cut & Paste Mini Edition (album not shown), with a few cards from the Wellington Childhood Edition and a bunch from their Australia Themed Card Kit thrown in for good measure. I especially love the Wellington cards and have also just snagged myself a Cinnamon Core Kit & DIY Shop kit super cheap this past week for use on my 12 x12’s. Both Cinnamon and the DIY Shop kit have colours and designs that I use All. The. Time. in my pages so I’m sure they will not go to waste. I’m excited to see how I can alter, crop and just generally ‘play’ with them to make them work for me.

I really hope the guys enjoy their little reminder of their time in Tassie. This was a really helpful experiment in scrapping for me. What are your thoughts on Project Life style documentation?

One thought on “My First Foray into Project LIfe

  1. Pingback: Workspace and Craft Room Rehab: Joining Forces | live. create. love it.

Leave a Reply

