That Thing That Scares the Crap Out of You

You may have noticed that my posts of late have been a bit wordier than some previous. Part of it is that I just love to write. In particular I love to write about scrapbooking. Part of it is I’m still figuring out what I want to say in this space and the best way for me to say it. I could talk all day about this wonderful craft of ours, seriously I have a lot to say on the topic of scrapbooking, don’t get me started if you’re not into this thing. But another part of it is that my crafty time has been taken up by the super secret biz of creating my entry for the Scrapbooking Memories Masters Competition. Nope can’t even show you sneaky peeks for this one. All entries have to be previously unpublished and created specifically for the comp.

11082014_1ThatThingToday I posted my entry with a little good luck kiss from my boys and sent my scrapbooking ‘pretties’ out into the big wide world. This is the very first time I have ever submitted anything for publication, online or otherwise (go big or go home right!). Who knows if I’ll win, get an honourable mention or even have my work acknowledged at all, that was really not the point of the exercise (although it would be fabulous!), the point for me, was simply to enter.

Can we be super real with one another right now.

It totally freaked me out, and I am soooo proud of myself.

11082014_2ThatThingEeek I could have my layouts in one of these. I am not a newbie to the scrapbooking world by any means, coming up on fourteen years now, but I have only recently decided to show my work. Case in point the ol’ blog-a-roo here. I have never been published and besides uploading a few things to BPC class galleries that’s about as public as my work has been until now. In fact the only people who have seen my work prior to 2013 were real actual people that I know in-real-life! Yup, crazy right.

Ok, so maybe it’s not so crazy but here’s the getting real part. It wasn’t because I didn’t want to have my work in magazines or online – IT WAS BECAUSE I WAS SCARED. I love scrapbooking so crazy much, but the thought of putting my work out there, of chasing after my dreams and actually getting out of my safe little bubble, of challenging myself was too much to bear. I don’t know if it’s a confidence thing or my dislike of change or just utter fear of the unknown. Probably all three rolled into one but hey whatever it was one thing’s for sure the only thing that was holding me back was me.

I’ve had this thought rolling round in my head for a little over a year now. I typed it up and blu-tacked it to the window right in front of where I sit in my scrap space, it’s the screen saver on my phone and it’s constantly on my mind. At first it was only a seed but slowly it’s leaking out and growing roots and blossoming. My thought is this…

11082014ThatThingA4Scrapbooking is that thing for me. I think about it constantly, it challenges me and renews me and is my unique expression of who I am and what I’m about. Being a scrapbook educator and an inspiration for other scrapbookers is the thing that I want so much that it scares the crap out of me. What do I have to offer; what can I teach that other people can’t; what is it, in my unique expression of scrapbooking that can open up a world of possibilities for others? That is the thing I want to chase.

But wanting and doing are two different things. It has been a real journey of growth for me to get to this point and a lot of that has happened over the last three years where I’ve really focused and been cognisant on my One Little Word* for the past few years. The first was ACT in 2012. ACT was all about moving from dreams to action. Following through on the things I started and not letting myself be held back by fear and indecision. The element of follow-through is why I included ‘starting today’ as such an important part of my little thought there. Focusing only on what I can do today, right now, to build upon what I’ve done before is really where it’s at for me. Starting I’m great at. Starting I can do. Start a blog… start a post… start another one… start submitting… start reaching out to others in this fabulous industry… just start something and find out what works and where I fit. I don’t need to see the whole picture all I need to do is JUST START. (I will admit that one of my actions for that year was also to add to our family, so in essence ACT took two years to come to full potency because my energies were  required to grow and rear a newborn.) I think my intentions for ACT are best summed up by this quote:

Remember how often you have postponed minding your own interest, and let slip those opportunities

[that God has] given you. It is now high time to consider what sort of world you are a part of and from

what kind of governor of it you are descended; that you have a set period assigned you to act in, and unless

you improve it to brighten and compose your thoughts, it will quickly run off with you and be lost beyond recovery.

Marcus Aurelius Antoninus

My word for this year is BRAVE. Similarly it was also about conquering my own internal fears but more than that it was about being bold and challenging them head on. Are the beliefs and thoughts I have serving me, are they real? From relationships, to learning how to drive a manual car for the first time, to submitting my work BRAVE is serving me real well. Which brings us right back to what I started saying. The ACT of being BRAVE and entering the Scrapbooking Memories Masters Competition is what it’s all been about here of late. I’m thrilled with the work I produced, I’m thrilled that I didn’t talk myself out of it – yet again and I’m thrilled that I got it in the post and the rest is up to them.

And my One Little Word for 2015 well I already know what it’s going to be and I can tell you it will be a very, very good year.

Here’s to chasing dreams!

11082014ThatThingA4                         11082014ThatThingUSLetter

    That Thing A4                                    That Thing US Letter

PS. If you want a copy of ‘That Thing’ for yourself click the quote above or hit the text beneath to get a handy dandy PDF version to stick on you own wall.

 

 

*One Little Word® is a year-long class/movement created by the wonderful Ali Edwards where you’re invited to focus on One Little Word for a year and let it permeate and enrich your life. She was initially inspired by a challenge blog in 2007 of the same name (no longer operating, on her links or otherwise but you can still find the One Little Word Blog content here). You can read her original post here and find out more on her website here. Although I just got word that her site will be down for redesign from the 11th August(US) for a week or two so don’t be concerned if the link doesn’t work straight away just check back later.

 

3 thoughts on “That Thing That Scares the Crap Out of You

  1. Pingback: In Search Of Happy: a call to Live, Create and Love It | live. create. love it.

  2. Pingback: One Little Word: A Brave Year | live. create. love it.

  3. Pingback: Talk About Happy Mail! | live. create. love it.

Leave a Reply

