Jot Magazine July Mood Board

We’ve had some wild and windy weather here in Tassie and I’m getting in on this one by the skin of my teeth. We’ve had wattle trees falling over our driveway, internet going in and out, and power outages to contend with round here so I’m just hoping the power and internet will hold out until I get this posted. Surprisingly this month’s theme which centres around mustard yellow and teal with complimentary neutrals of rich brown and subtle grey are remarkably like the current state of things outside our house right now. We’ve got yellow wattle flowers and greenery strewn about the place, grey skies and rich brown mud laid thick everywhere you look and while it would certainly compliment the colour scheme of this month’s Jot Magazine Mood Board I’ll leave that for another day and instead show you something a little prettier.

31072014_1JotMagJulyMoodBoardThere are just some people in your life who you know have got your back. These girls are the ones that have been through thick and thin with me and although we don’t live so close anymore I still love them to bits. I decided to use the latest mood board to highlight this photo of us taken at a Western themed 30th birthday. I loved how the mustard and teal really highlighted the hot pink in the photo, and that the brown and grey helped ground it. This pic had been displayed on my desk for the last six years or so and I figured it was about time swap it out and get it on a layout. I already had my journaling ready to go in one of my notebooks so I just pulled it together and went about seeing what else the mood board could inspire.

31072014_1JotMagJulyMoodBoardImage number 3 of the mustard skirt and teal stockings was just the spark of inspiration I needed on this one. I chose to use the mustard-layered-on-teal as the main background and cut up some doilies to create a lace like frill underneath. I also loved the design on the skirt and set about recreating it with some shiny white string inside one of my doily hearts which are a nod to those cute cake toppers.

31072014_2JotMagJulyMoodBoardTo keep the background from being too boring I used a Versamark watermark ink pad to do some subtle stamping between the photo and doily hearts just for a little bit of interest there. It’s barely noticable on the cute star paper from Kaisercraft’s Technologic Collection but shows up a little more on the teal cardstock helping to keep the white space from being trapped among all the other elements of the page.31072014_3JotMagJulyMoodBoardCompleting the semi-circular cluster of elements around my photo is some nude Heidi Swapp die-cuts. I love the subtly of  design you get when you don’t mist them like this and it allows you to still use quite large die-cuts in a space that would pull your eye away from the rest of the design if you used something with more colour. Keeping them nude also helps to really bring your eye around the layout from the journaling to title.

31072014_4JotMagJulyMoodBoardMy main inspiration was obviously the skirt but what’s your favourite thing about this mood board?

Leave a Reply

