Because I’m Happy

Shimelle’s fourth challenge was to use Mist or Ink on a layout. I really haven’t explored this medium very much and have only recently acquired my measly three bottles of Mist. Two Heidi Swapp Colour Shines (White and my favourite Tropicana Teal), and I also have a Sprinklers mist in Lagoon. So, not exactly the widest colour selection – Blue or Blue or White. In any case I really, really like these colours and just set to work figuring out what I could do that was a little different to my usual spray and run technique and this was what I came up with.

30062014_2aBecauseImHappyThe background was created from the negative of a 12 x 12 Kaisercraft Damask template, using both of the blue mists in an attempted ombre effect. First I spritzed through the stencil then laid another piece of white card stock over the top of it to soak up the left over mist. This one was created by following with a second piece of card stock to soak in the very last of the mist still remaining on the stencil. I liked the subtlety of the design and that it wouldn’t easily overwhelm the rest of my design. The Colour Shine mists were both used again on some Colour Magic ephemera pieces but I left most of them nude. I really love that look, especially on a white background.

30062014_2bBecauseImHappyMy layout was inspired by that little Colour Magic ‘happy’ arrow. I have had Pharrell Williams song Happy on repeat in my head, since the first time I heard it. It is just the perfect song for my life right now. I love the positivity and have kind of adopted a hot air balloon as a bit of a symbol this year of reaching new heights and chasing after dreams.30062014_2dBecauseImHappy30062014_2cBecauseImHappyWhat music is inspiring you right now?

 

Leave a Reply

