Fabric, I Love You… Just Because…

When I saw all that lovely fabric in the June Mood Board at Jot Magazine my first thought went straight to my stash of much underused but beautiful fabric. It seems when it comes to fabric I am more full of intentions than actual impetus to complete projects. I love all the different textures and colours and designs and while I’m fairly competent I would still say I’m learning when it comes to the sewing part. But when it comes to paper you can bet I love getting into that, so why not treat my fabric stash like my paper stash. The lovely floral fabric was just the colour combination to kick off my Jot inspiration and when teemed with some calico neutrals, can you say swoon. P.S. I’m also swooning over that gorgeous photo of my lovely hubby and bubby that my aunty took, thanks Gaynor! Those two are just too gorgeous for words.

23062014_1FabricILoveYouJustBecauseBecause the fabric is so saturated I decided to keep the rest of this layout pretty neutral and fuss free. The calico ribbon with the ruler design and the one with the butterflies are both from Kaisercraft’s Timeless Collection but the pinked little cavas tags are from Francheville and I just dressed up one of those up with some rub-ons from the Kaisercraft Bonjour collection, to tie them both together.

23062014_2FabricILoveYouJustBecauseSince the fabric was a little hard to write on I also decided to just type my journaling onto a couple of tags and stick them behind the photo. Sticking with the whole typewriter theme I chose to use LB Typewriter Thin for my font. I didn’t end up using a lot of the fibres I gathered when curating supplies for these layouts (seen here). But one of them did make it onto this layout to dress up the tags and just add a little bit extra interest on that side of the page.

23062014_3FabricILoveYouJustBecauseI wanted to keep the frayed edges pretty central to the design so I chose to use the strip of calico to stamp my title on with a stamp set from EK Success called Antique Typewriter Lower ABC, it has been in my stash almost as long as I’ve been scrapping I think. They are much loved and much used around here and I’m pretty sure if you search around you can still get them in a bunch of different places. They’re the perfect tiny font. I did make a little bit of a mess with the title but I think it just adds to the perfectly imperfect nature of the frayed/typewritten title. I also kept a little bit of fraying on the edges of the layout for the same reason.

23062014_4FabricILoveYouJustBecauseI had a great time playing with my fabric just because it adds such great texture to a layout. I think I might do it a bit more in future. Have you ever used fabric on a layout, got any other ideas you’d care to share to help a gal put a few more layouts together?

Leave a Reply

