Orange You Glad I Didn’t Make a Bad Joke

So you know how I said in this post that the colour Orange is a bit out of my colour comfort zone, well apparently it turns out that it happens to be turning up quite a bit in recent layouts floating round the old scrap desk. In particular this one, in which it makes a starring roll. Who knew I could be so inspired from one mood board.

11062014_1FunTimesI was also a little unaware that I actually possessed that many orange bits and pieces in my scrap stash. Admittedly most of them are cut from other paper lines. The grey and orange circles came from a Kaisercraft line called Pina Colada and the journaling spot is from their Offshore collection. The little “happy” vellum circle is an American Crafts Monogram Word Circles throwback (which was totally inspired by this. It’s been on repeat around here because me & those beautiful boys just love to get our groove on). The ‘Fun times’ title piece is from a Grace Taylor die-cut pack and that orange background paper that inspired it all is from the fabulous Hey Boy collection by Basic Grey.

11062014_2FunTimesMy favourite elements on this have got be those fabulous dimensional embellishments though. The Francheville paper clip adds a little bit of contrast to all those warm colours of red and orange and the tiny pegs give a little bit of interest to that top half of the page. Whenever I do stuff like this I always still think of it as lumpy-bumpy. Does anyone remember the book Lumpy Bumpy by Ngaire Bartlam? Man she was one of my favourites back in the day.11062014_3FunTimes

11062014_4FunTimesAs for the washi tape mat behind my photo – yeah I totally cheated with that. I’m a bit of a frugal crafter, who knows why, I have enough stuff to last me from now until forever.  But that polka dot washi is just so versatile. I’m sure I won’t have any trouble coming up with a myriad of uses for it on other layouts.

Instead of running strips of washi across the page behind my photo I just tore off little bits so you could see enough of it peaking out from behind for the same effect. If I hadn’t told you I’m pretty sure nobody would have picked it. The only problem with this method is matching it up so the edges don’t look too weird and the spots don’t overlap in a funny way. But for overall effect I think it turned out just fine.

Got any frugal scrappy tips to share? Are you a fellow Lumpy Bumpy lover? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

